

Subterfuge:

Daniel Klingen (Drums), Kai Blankenberg (Bass), Lars Schmidt (Vocals, Guitar), Lorenz Naumann (Keys, Guitar, Bass), Thomas Baumhoff (Vocals, Guitar), Tom Blankenberg (Keys)

Biography:

Formed in '91 Subterfuge are one of a handful German first generation Indiepop groups that are still around. Between 1993 and 2005 the band recorded four studio albums, their third one *I Do Birds* was released in Japan by Philter Records. The Videosingle *Silly Girl* enjoyed rotation airtime on Germany music television VIVA2.

For the 10th anniversary of their debut album *Fabulous* in 2003 twenty eight bands (Slut, Miles, Readymade, Virginia Jetzt!, Nova International, Liquido, Pale, Paula and many more) recorded cover versions for the compilation *Fabulous Friends*. Until 2007 the band played >250 shows, as headliners as well as tour support for larger acts and festivals (Bizarre, Immergut etc.)

Then priorities of the band members shifted towards solo projects while in parallel life's complexities kicked in. Even though the group remained closest friends, joint activities became scarce and the story seemed to be told.

But after the odd acoustic gig here and there the songwriters Thomas and Lars started working on new material in 2019, which brought the band back together in practice rooms to work on a new album. In the meantime Lorenz had become a skilled producer while all band members were soaked up with more than a decade of additional musical experiences and influences. Hence arranging and recording the album at Hedgehog Recorders turned out to be a permanent discovery path for the band in all sorts of new musical directions while at the same time sticking to their roots in indie pop with jangly guitars and vocal harmonies.

New Single The Good Good:

After returning with *Stephanie Said* and *The Snake Wife* here is the next Subterfuge single **The Good Good**: A Bedroom Pop type of song with a view into the tempestuous artist's soul with writers blocks and doubts about one's own relevance.

The Good Good will be digitally released November 19 on Less Records, distributed by Cargo Records. The forthcoming album **Dots.** will be available from March 4, 2022 via Less Records, Kocliko Records and Shiny Happy Records, again distributed by Cargo Records

